London, April 2017

I have been to London several times since I’m very young, so it kind of feels home to me and not like a random holiday place. However the city is so huge that I haven’t seen everything yet, plus it never stops transforming !

There is a place I go to each time I’m in London : Camden Town. It’s always too crowded but apart from that I love the lively atmosphere there and the street food market (near Camden Lock) in particular. It’s fantastic to have access to food from all over the world, all gathered in the same place. This time I tried venezuelan “arepa” (a sort of corn bread filled with avocado, beans, tomatoes, onions,..) and I absolutely loved it. Looking forwards to try it when I go to Venezuela 🙂

I then strolled at the canal’s edge, which is a calm and lovely place. Quite close to Regent’s Park, there are stunning houses ; of course, I had already seen beautiful houses in London but these were actual palaces, huge mansions in the heart of the city. I guess that knowing their price would cause a heart attack haha.
I also went on top of Primrose hill, which I had never heard of before ; it’s a perfect place to enjoy a view of the city and of course it’s particularly nice with the sunset.

What’s more, I went to Richmond Park and found it marvellous. Hyde Park, Regent’s Park etc are huge and look like pieces of countryside but Richmond is way bigger and really is in the countryside ! I was delighted to be lucky enough to meet a group of deers, I had never been so close to these animals ; they are sooo sweet and I loved the fact that they are free and happy there – zoos as for them are hell, they should have stopped existing a long time ago.

I had always wanted to visit Hampton Court Palace (palaces/castles and some figures like Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn are part of what I love in history) and this time I did ! For personal reasons, this visit made a strong impression on me but I think it’s something to see once in a lifetime anyway. It is not as somptuous as Versailles (which palace is as somptuous as Versailles anyway ?) but there is something very special that comes out of it (I guess it would be even more special at night, no doubt it is haunted 😉 )

Oh and something very important happened, I got to eat a Kinder Bueno calzone. London is perfect for original and unexpected things (food, architecture, and even people ! There was that man who was singing Bob Marley and wearing socks with cannabis leaf patterns; I guess every detail is important)

To make a long story short, I’d say that it’s never possible to get bored in London ; there are always surprises awaiting ! 🙂

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Bon, pas de version française pour cette fois, j’ai commencé puis j’ai trouvé que cela paraissait plutôt inintéressant en français (Bien que ce soit pourtant plus logique d’écrire dans sa langue natale… ) Est-ce vraiment possible d’être plus intéressant dans une langue que dans une autre ou c’est moi qui divague ? 😉
Bref, je suppose que quasi tout le monde comprend l’anglais mais au cas où, il y a de toutes façons les photos qui sont sûrement plus parlantes que le texte ! (surtout pour constater à quel point les cerfs (biches? ou autre ?) sont adorables)

7 thoughts on “London, April 2017

  1. Je suis absolument nulle en anglais alors je me suis contentée des photos, qui d’ailleurs sont superbes. J’adore les tags et les affiches sur les murs, je trouve qu’ils contribuent à rendre les rues plus vivantes en plus des couleurs. C’est magnifique !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

