Maryland + Washington D.C., June 2016

The United States : one of my biggest dreams. For a long time, I had dreamt about going to the USA, thus it was obvious that I was going to travel there some day, however I didn’t think that it would happen that soon ! Indeed, as a student, my financial resources are quite limited… But I got the chance to make that journey, during which I visited Maryland, Washington D.C., and NYC !

Another discovery I made was the two-storey plane – I had never been on a long-haul flight – which I found fantastic ! I wasn’t sure about the fact that such a huge aircraft could stay in the air, but it seems that everything’s possible in 2016. Also, I had the luxury to enjoy a vegan meal in the middle of the clouds. 🙂

More specifically, I stayed around Kent Island, in a lovely neighborhood with typical American houses (how pleasant is that !) by the water. I visited the surroundings, including Annapolis, the capital of the State of Maryland.

In the first instance, I visited Washington D.C., where I saw the White House (only from the outside, because it’s necessary to book in advance to get inside) and the Capitol of course, as well as the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial.

After that, I headed to NYC !!! which is situated a few hours away by bus, about 4 hours if I remember well. Direct and comfortable journey, with wifi available (perfect for posting about the adventure on Snapchat 😉 )

Next : the NYC article !

>> A special thanks to Rebecca for welcoming us and showing us all the beautiful places during our stay there ! 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Les States : l’un de mes plus grands rêves. Depuis bien longtemps, je rêvais des Etats-Unis, il était donc évident que j’allais m’y rendre un jour mais je n’aurais jamais cru que ce jour arriverait déjà ! Effectivement, en tant qu’étudiante, mes moyens financiers sont quelque peu limités… Mais j’ai donc eu la chance d’effectuer ce voyage, en me rendant d’une part dans le Maryland, puis à Washington DC, et d’autre part à New-York !

Une autre de mes découvertes a été l’avion à deux étages – je n’avais jamais pris de long-courrier auparavant – que j’ai trouvé magnifique ! Je doutais du fait qu’un appareil aussi imposant puisse vraiment rester dans les airs, mais en 2016 tout est possible apparemment. J’ai également eu le luxe de profiter d’un plat vegan au milieu des nuages. 🙂

Dans un premier temps, je suis restée autour de Kent Island, dans un joli quartier aux maisons typiquement américaines (tout pour me plaire) et au bord de l’eau. J’ai visité les alentours et notamment Annapolis, la capitale de l’Etat du Maryland.

J’ai ensuite visité Washington D.C., où j’ai bien évidemment vu la Maison Blanche (seulement de l’extérieur malheureusement, car il faut réserver à l’avance pour y entrer) et le Capitole, ainsi que le Washington Monument et le Lincoln Memorial.

Suite à cela, direction : NYC !!! qui est située à quelques heures en bus, environ 4h d’après mes souvenirs. Trajet direct et confortable, avec le wifi à disposition (parfait pour snapper ses aventures en direct 😉 )

Pour la suite rdv dans l’article NYC !

Leave a Reply

